2017 NSF Workshop: Advancing and Accelerating Materials Innovation

 Advancing and Accelerating Materials Innovation Through the Synergistic Interaction among Computation, Experiment, and Theory: Opening New Frontiers

A workshop sponsored by the National Science Foundation

May 18-19, 2017

This workshop will review accomplishments that have emerged from federally funded investments in science and infrastructure under the Materials Genome Initiative, identify scientific opportunities in this new environment, examine how to effectively utilize new materials innovation infrastructure, and discuss challenges in achieving the vision of accelerating materials research though the seamless interaction of experiment, computation, and theory and realizing the potential impact on industry and the nation's economy. In the course of the workshop, best practices in achieving synergistic collaboration among computation, experiment, and theory; the emerging role of data; and ways to engage industry will be addressed. The workshop bring together experts across various fields to provide a focused effort in identify promising, key areas of future research.


Plenary Speakers

Charles Ahn, Yale University
Alan Aspuru-Guzik, Harvard University
Jeffrey Greeley, Purdue University
Elizabeth Holm, Carnegie Mellon University
Randall Kamien, University of Pennsylvania
William Koros, Georgia Institute of Technology
John Mauro, Corning Inc.
Bryce Meredig, Citrine Informatics
Patrick Riley, Google Accelerated Science
Chris Spadaccini, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Peter Voorhees, Northwestern University


The workshop will take place at

The National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Blvd. Arlingotn, VA 22203
Room 555, Stafford II Building

The NSF is accessible by Metro at the Ballston-George Mason University Metro stop on the Orange Line, and there are public pay parking garages beneath the NSF Stafford I and Stafford II buildings.  For more information about the NSF, please visit their website


Steering Committee

Juan de Pablo, University of Chicago
Long-Qing Chen, Pennsylvania State University
Andrea Liu, University of Pennsylvania
Joel Moore, Berkeley University
Dane Morgan, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Tresa Pollock, University of California - Santa Barbara
Darrell Schlom, Cornell University
Eric Toberer, Colorado School of Mines


Discussion Leaders

Dean Delongchamp, National Institute of Standards and Technology 
Ismaila Dabo, Penn State University
Greg Fiete, University of Texas-Austin
Greg Grason, University of Massachusetts
Geoffroy Hautier, University Catholique de Louvain-Belgium
Yifei Mo, University of Maryland
Krishna Rajan, University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Evan Reed, Stanford University
Vladan Stevanovic, Colorado School of Mines
Jin Suntivich, Cornell University
Katsuyo Thornton, University of Michigan
Ji-Cheng Zhao, Ohio State University
James Analytis, University of California-Berkeley


Collaborating Institutions

Aramco Services Company
Argonne National Labarotary
Bosch Research
Brandeis University
Bucknell University
Carnegie Mellon University
Citrine Informatics
Colorado School of Mines
Cornell University
Corning Incorporated
Georgetown University
Georgia Institute of Technology
Harvard University
Honeywell UOP
IBM Research -- Almaden
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Lousiana Tech University
Michigan State University
National Energy Technology Laboratory
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
National Institutes of Standards and Technology
Northwestern University
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Pennsylvania State University
Rutgers University
SLAC National Laboratory
The Ohio State University
The University at Buffalo -- State University of New York
Université Catholique de Louvain
University of California -- Berkeley
University of California -- San Diego
University of California -- Santa Barbara
University of Chicago
University of Colorado -- Boulder
University of Delaware
University of Illinois
University of Michigan
University of Maryland -- College Park
University of Massachusetts -- Amherst
University of Nevada -- Las Vegas
University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania
University of Texas -- Austin
University of Utah
University of Wisconsin -- Madison