News: Faculty


Nagel awarded APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research

January 12, 2023

This year, Sidney Nagel, the Stein-Freiler Distinguished Service Professor of Physics at the University of Chicago, is accepting the 2023 American Physical Society Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research. The award, sometimes referred to as the ‘lifetime achievement Oscar of physics,’ recognizes “contributions of the highest level that advance our knowledge and understanding of the physical universe in all its facets.”


Giulia Galli elected to National Academy of Sciences

April 29, 2020

Synthetic tissue inspired by hand-pulled noodles

February 11, 2020

Hidden Symmetries open new avenues for material design

February 11, 2020


Matt Tirrell elected to National Academy of Sciences

June 30, 2019

Matthew Tirrell, the dean and Founding Pritzker Director of the Institute for Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.